Overview

CIDOC has a number of Working Groups, each of which carries out a specific set of tasks. Generally the annual CIDOC conference is the time for the Working Groups to come together, have discussions about their topics and relate to the other groups.

Since the beginning of CIDOC in 1950 there have been around 30 different working groups. Some of the Working Groups have been more active than others. Some, especially those focusing on specific time-related topics, have only existed for a limited time.

The intiative to start a new working group should come from interested CIDOC members, and has to be proposed to an Annual General Meeting of CIDOC.

The navigation panel on the left lists pages for each of the currently active Working Groups. There you will find short introductions and information about each Working Groups current projects.

The Working Groups are open to all CIDOC members, and we encourage your participation. Please feel free to contact the Working Group Chairs for more information.

  • Archaeological Sites
    Stephen Stead, UK, steads[at]paveprime.com
  • Co-reference
    Mika Nyman, Finland, mika.nyman[at]synapse-computing.com
  • Conceptual Reference Model 
    Martin Doerr, Greece, martin[at]ics.forth.gr
  • Digital preservation
    Susanne Nickel, Sweden, susanne.nickel[at]eskilstuna.se
  • Digital strategy development
    Jan Behrendt, Germany, wg-dsd[at]jan-behrendt.de
  • Documentation Standards
    Jonathan Whitson Cloud, UK, jwhitsoncloud[at]gmail.com
    Maija Ekosaari, Finland, ekosaari[at]iki.fi
  • Exhibition and Performance Documentation
    Gabriel Moore Forell Bevilacqua, Brazil, gabrielmoore[at]gmail.com
  • Information Centres
    Monika Hagedorn-Saupe, Germany, m.hagedorn[at]smb.spk-berlin.de
  • Intangible Cultural Heritage
    Manvi Seth, India, sharma.manvi[at]gmail.com
  • LIDO
    Regine Stein, Germany, regine.stein[at]sub.uni-goettingen.de
  • Linkedart
    Robert Sanderson, USA
  • Museum Process Implementation
    Walther Koch, Austria, walter.koch[at]stw.de
  • Semantic Research Environments
    Mark Fichtner , Germany. m.fichtner[at]gnm.de